Welcome to my blog on McAuliffe School

Welcome to my blog and thank you for stopping by. I consider myself extremely fortunate to be the principal of McAuliffe School. Located in Saratoga, CA, we are an alternative program in the Cupertino Union School District.

McAuliffe is a parent participation school that inspires passion for lifelong learning, fosters social and emotional growth, and develops children’s creative minds. McAuliffe teachers integrate project-based learning, collaboration, and conflict resolution to help students develop critical thinking and higher order cognitive skills – evaluation, analysis, and synthesis.

This blog is an experiment. I am exploring alternative ways to communicate with our community and to document a few of the many and varied activities that occur here. For now, I plan to keep the focus of the blog on all things McAuliffe. That’s about as wide open as I can manage. Be forewarned, because this is an experiment, I may periodically take “garden walks. When I make those leaps, I will  do my best to guide you so we can travel down the garden path together.

I will most likely share a few of the books that we have read this year as well as a few that are on my nightstand. You may also read about our transition to the Common Core State Standards and our efforts to remain true to our philosophy in the process.

Life-long learning has long been the rallying cry for educators. In fact, in 1972 the UNESCO Institute for Eduction revised their focus to examine lifelong learning.   But whether you are trying to understand the new healthcare laws, tending to your gardens as spring draws near, developing a platform for semiconductors that is faster and more durable than silicon, or navigating the, all too often choppy, waters of parenting, lifelong learning is a reality for us all.   

Learning opportunities abound for us all, for better and for worse. I make no promises as to the frequency or length of the entries.  So check back periodically and hopefully you will be pleasantly surprised.

One thing that I realized early on is that our school has a very strong oral tradition. While this experiment may one day become supporting documentation of experiences at McAuliffe, for now, it is simply the first steps on a journey.

Welcome.

Rick Yee

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

