The Baby Frog

This morning I listened to Mike Adamick’s perspective on KQED. I really appreciate when people share their story and are brave enough to include their challenges so I’ve included it here. –> http://www.kqed.org/radio/archives/R201401290735.xml

As I listened to Mike’s story, my mind drifted first, briefly, to Aldus Huxley’s Brave New World and Yevgeny Zamyatin’s We… realizing that wasn’t quite what he was describing, I wondered at what cost and what impact technology has on our children socially, emotionally, and what, if any, impact does it have on brain development (more on that later).

As I thought about the way his daughter started the day, I reflected on how my own day begins. Do I reach for a loved one first or my iphone/ipad/tech device? Ugh! More often than I’d like, it’s the latter. I’m not big into Facebook or social media, but I regularly check email before reading the newspaper. Fortunately, there’s still time to change that!

Now before you get worried, I  love my family and  spending time with them is one of the best and most amazing things ever! Nor am I a Luddite . The Internet/intranets and the devices we use to connect us to them are valuable tools. Among the very many wonderful uses, they provide access to resources and facilitate communication.

So now what? Well…I’m inspired to reread  Brave New World and We.  At the same time, I’m reminded of the importance of human connection and will continue to work more of that into my regular day… a hand written letter, a phone call, coffee, dinner, etc. Finally, I want to learn more about the impact that various types of technology have on child development.

Thanks for your candor Mike!

And for everyone reading, the good news is that, while the perspective aired today, Baby Frog did eventually leave the nest. Here’s a link to his blog if you are interested in further reading: http://mikeadamick.com/

Leave a comment

January 29, 2014 · 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

