I love StoryCorps.

A few years ago, I picked up a book by David Isay entitled, “Listening is an Act of Love: A Celebration of American Life from the StoryCorps Project.” I loved it. By exploring the lives of those around us through story, David took me back to one of my all time favorite oral historians, Studs Turkel.

Studs just had that gift of showing the reader another side of life. It was powerful, vivid, and engaging. At a recent gathering I was reminded of StoryCorps and spent a bit of time looking it up.

Here is an animated version of a few such stories. I hope you enjoy them. Ask your family and friends the questions posed by StoryCorps. And…if you enjoy listening and/or telling your story, StoryCorps is opening a branch here in the bay area at the San Francisco Library (http://storycorps.org/san-francisco/).

Leave a comment

February 20, 2014 · 3:42 am

Leave a Reply

