Learning Opportunties and Readling List

Fostering autonomy and a place in school and the world beyond:
As I walked around our campus this week, I was reminded of one other reason why our students’ learning experiences are so special. “I have another way.” This was a simple comment from a 5th grade student during a discussion on osmosis during science. The student went on to share a method that would take into consideration the amount of moisture that would be lost due to evaporation in addition to being
absorbed by osmosis over time.

“I have another way,” sounds simple, but all too often in education, students are not given the opportunity to explore alternative methods for approaching a subject. I love that this is not the case here. Students at McAuliffe are encouraged to share their voice, explain their process and plans with their colleagues. Giving them this opportunity is powerful and empowering! We strongly support students making their own way and articulating their thought process and this is one way we are able to accomplish this. What would it mean if, in our world, everyone’s voice was honored and heard?

January Reading:
While I am not usually a subscriber to endorsements by those I don’t know, I was intrigued by Mark Zuckerberg’s selection of The End of Power by Moisés Naím. We certainly operate under a less typical model of decision making at McAuliffe and one that I believe is incredibly powerful. I look forward to reading this work and sharing my thoughts with you in the near future. This week I was also approached by a parent who suggested that I read Excellent Sheep: The Miseducation of the American Elite and the Way to a Meaningful Life by William Deresiewicz. !
Challenge accepted! !
– Rick

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

